Just Because I Love You

Posted: March 4, 2016 in Uncategorized

When my husband and I were still dating, he wrote a list of all the things he promised he’d do for me. They ranged anywhere from killing all the spiders to being the kind of man he’d want his daughter to marry. That list was written nearly 3 years ago, and he’s kept every single one of those promises. Valentines day just passed, and I guess you could say we aren’t the traditional couple on good old V-Day. By that, I mean we don’t go to a nice dinner, see a movie, or spend ridiculous amounts of money on overpriced flowers, chocolates, teddy bears, etc.

Our very first Valentines Day as a couple, I put on a pretty dress, hopped in my car, and drove to Lackland AFB for the first time. I went to the wrong gate, my tires badly needed to be replaced (it was a miracle I made the 4hr drive there, lol), and my hair wasn’t as perfect as it was when I left my house because my car didn’t have A/C, so I rode the whole way with my windows down. Then I saw him. That handsome man who is now my husband. He was smiling at the mess of a girl that I was, and was so beyond happy to see me. As far as gifts, I’m pretty sure I just gave him a card (since I drove all that way to see him), and he gave me flowers with a sweet note. We didn’t go on a fancy date, and that was perfectly fine with me. Instead, we got Chipotle, then watched movies while sharing a pint of ice cream. The next day, I showed him how much the price drops on valentine’s day candy. We stocked up and ate way too much chocolate while watching another movie that afternoon. For dinner that night, he took me on an actual date. Three years later, we’re still doing the same thing. Chipotle and a movie, then candy, then a date.

Sure, it’s fun to have one day out of the year where you go above and beyond to spoil that special someone. In my mind though, if you truly love someone, you show them throughout the year, everyday, even in the smallest of ways. Don’t get me wrong, I always love when my husband surprises me with flowers every month or so, but he also shows me he loves me in other ways. he tells me thank you for making dinner and does the dishes when we’re finished eating. He comments on how clean our house is or how good it smells. he calls me beautiful, even when I’m feeling the furthest thing from it. He tries his absolute hardest to get me everything I want. He sends me sweet texts throughout the day. He hugs me or holds me when I look like I’ve had a rough day. He gets a bubble bath all ready for me, complete with a glass of wine and candles.There are so many other things he does to show his love or me, but I’m pretty sure you get the idea.

When is the last time you did something for someone just because you love them? It doesn’t have to be anything that costs money. A simple note, a back massage, or even just a “Thank you” can have a huge impact on your relationship. You can say, “You’ve only been married two years. You don’t understand.” The best way to keep a woman is to keep doing what you did to get her in the beginning. Remember, happy wife, happy life.

edit

My husband and I on Valentines Day 2016 ❤

Wait! Don't leave without commenting!

