You’re Leaving

Posted: October 19, 2015 in Uncategorized

Today wasn’t such a good day. I called into work at 2am, then had a doctor’s appointment at 10am. We found out that I have the flu and strep, and was given 5 medications, along with 3 days off work. Later, we decided to go look at couches since we plan on getting new furniture when you come home. Then you received a text. 

You sat down and your face instantly changed. I asked you what happened. You looked up at me and told me that you’d be leaving in the morning. My heart stopped. I was supposed to have at least 2 more days with you. You were supposed to get at least 3 days’ notice, but instead, we had less than 24 hours.

We went to the car, and I couldn’t control it. I couldn’t stop the tears. I told myself to be strong, and took deep breaths, but it only stopped for a minute before the water works began again. If only I’d known.

If I’d known today was your last day with us, we would’ve made more memories. We would’ve had a special dinner date. We would’ve done so many things differently, but now there’s no time. You leave in the morning, and there’s nothing either of us can do about it.

Emma and I are going to miss you like crazy, and I know you’ll miss us as well. Just come home soon. I hope you’ve enjoyed your short time here. I hope you know how much you mean to me. I hope you know just how special you are. Most importantly, I hope you know that I love you more than anything in this world, and that I’ll be here waiting when you come home.

My heart aches at the fact that tomorrow you won’t be here. I won’t get to fall asleep in your arms. I won’t get to make you dinner. When I return to work after being sick, I won’t be able to kiss you goodbye as I go out the door.

You won’t be here to read bedtime stories to Emma, or to watch her giggle at Daisy. You won’t be here for a lot of her firsts. I promise to take pictures and videos and send you as much as possible. You’re such a good Daddy, and an amazing husband. Emma and I are so lucky.

Stay safe. We love you. Come home soon.

Comments
  1. My heart aches for you, sis. I love you.

Wait! Don't leave without commenting!

